Everything


Without home…
May 4, 2007, 10:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Every day in our city we see a lot of people who don’t have houses and live just on streets. Most of them are kids. Why do they ran away from their homes and prefer to stay on streets? I don’t think this happens because of good life, or because they don’t have parents.  Most of those children, actually, have parents, but they are going through a real hell in their homes and they make a decision to run away.   In 1998 I was going to Bulgaria with my mom and brother by train, and we stopped on one station. I don’t really remember the name of the station, but what I do remember is that it was still the territory of Ukraine. It was 11 p.m. and most of the passengers were already sleeping. Conductor told us that we would stay on the station for a one hour and we had decided to walk out from the carriage. There we saw four beggars. The oldest one was only 15; others were between 10 and 14 years old. I was amazed when they didn’t ask us for food or money…just like most beggars do. Moreover, they started to dance, and play different roles…it seemed they were actors from a theatre and we were their audience.   The youngest one was the most fascinating dancer and actor. While he was performing, I saw both happiness and anxiety in his eyes. I think that happened because he didn’t know what our reaction is goanna be. They were showing us a real show!!!! It was some kind of musical that was full of dancing, laughing, it seemed like they were really happy to see us and we were their favorite audience. Of course, after this unusual “performance” we gave them all the food and money we had. But then I became very curious about their lives and decided to ask the youngest one about his life. He told me that his parents were alcoholics and he had run away from home with his brother. They made a decision to live on streets. He added that sometimes people gave them food but, usually, they were responsible for getting their own food and finding ways to survive by themselves. He was so sincere and kind that it was impossible to have a doubt in his words. Then I asked my mom: “Why no one cares about these children? Why do they just live alone on streets without any help?” I don’t really remember what my mom answered, but I remember that I burst into tears… so did my brother.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I liked this whole story about homeless kids. I hope, when people will think more about those kids, the way they live, probably – they will start appreciating their own lives. Thanks for sharing this story))) ..even though it is very sad

Comment by Sunshine

Thanks for writing this Pettersoon and for sharing a piece of the perplexing puzzle that fits into the jumble of Ukraine’s past, present and future. Why is there alcoholism and despair alongside gifted children who seek refuge in the streets rather than live in the hell created by their parents’ addictions. You have a VERY big heart and write very well about what you observed. Please keep up the writing, others and your classmates appreciate what you bring out. You have a gift and if others can have their eyes opened to what you witness, maybe, just maybe something can be changed by simple acts of kindnesses as you described. Young children should never have to live out on the streets!!!

Comment by kristinagray




Leave a comment